Gutenberg Research Award

The Gutenberg Research College (GRC) annually awards the Gutenberg Research Award to outstanding international researchers. The GRC is continuing the tradition of the Graduate School of Excellence "Materials Science in Mainz" who initiated the Gutenberg Research Award in 2006 and granted it to outstanding researchers in the field of materials science. In 2012, the responsibility for the Gutenberg Research Award has been transferred to the GRC, who will be eliciting proposals from all faculties of JGU.

The Gutenberg Research Award 2018 will be granted to the theologians Adela Yarbro Collins and John J. Collins (both at Yale Divinity School) on May 28.

Since 2012, the Gutenberg Research Award was granted to the following researchers:

2017 Karin Knorr Cetina, Anthropology and Sociology, University of Chicago, USA
2016 Vishva Dixit, Biomedicine, Genentech, South San Francisco, USA
2015 Kazunori Kataoka, Polymer Chemistry, University of Tokyo, Japan
Kwok Pui Lan, Theology, Episcopal Divinity School, Cambridge, USA
2014 Ernst Fehr, Economics, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Michèle Lamont, Sociology, Harvard University, USA
2013 Maciej Lewenstein, Quantum Physics, Institute of Photonic Sciences, Barcelona, Spain
2012 Leonard Talmy, Linguistics, University at Buffalo, USA